RMA logo

The Royal Musical Association

Grants and Awards

In this section:

Awards for Scholarship

The Dent Medal

The Jerome Roche Prize

Honorary Membership

Financial Grants

The Frank Howes Memorial Fund

Student Research Grants

See Also

Conference Affiliation

RMA Awards Commitee

Photograph of Jerome Roche

Jerome Roche

The Jerome Roche Prize

The Jerome Roche Prize was inaugurated in 2001 in memory of the British scholar Jerome Roche. The prize is awarded annually by the RMA for a distinguished article by a scholar in the early stages of his or her career. Articles considered for the prize are in English and published in the previous calendar year. Articles may be considered from journals, edited volumes, or books of conference proceedings.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations can be made by any member of the RMA, and self-nominations are encouraged. Articles should be in English, and either from a journal, an edited volume or a book of conference proceedings. Only one nomination per candidate will be accepted in any one year. Nominated work may have multiple authors, but in order to qualify, all of the authors must be early career researchers. We define early-career researcher as 'someone who shall have received their final academic degree no more than five years before beginning their term on 1 January immediately following election (allowing for recognized career interruptions)'.

Nominations will be considered only if they are accompanied by the article and an abstract, together with evidence (e.g. a c.v.) that the nominee can indeed be considered to be in the early stages of a career. These documents may be submitted either:

  1. as hard copy, with four copies sent by post
  2. as an email attachment. If submitted electronically, the article should be in .pdf format and must appear as it does in its printed form (or in the case of online publications, final published format).

Authors or nominators who have questions about either format should contact the prize committee chair.

Chair of the Awards Committee

Pauline Fairclough


Nominations and supporting documents should be received by 1 March. Award Committee’s recommendation will be submitted to the following meeting of Council and the prize announced at the Annual General Meeting.

RMA Home Page RMA Facebook Group RMA Twitter Feed

Contact Us
Corrections or additions? Contact the website editor.